## An Inspiring Day.

Nurses' Prize-Giving at St. George-in-the-East Hospital.

ALTHOUGH ON ARRIVAL we much missed the cheerful welcome of the Assistant Matron, our colleague Miss M. I. Revill—a faithful supporter of the British College of Nurses, Ltd.—it seemed most fitting that the happy occasion of a Prize-Giving at St. George-in-the-East Hospital, Wapping, should take place on such a lovely spring day as that of April 23rd, 1953, a day when nurses and student nurses, proudly thrilled, received their awards and hospital certificates.

The ceremony was held in the Recreation-room where the platform was gaily decorated with pink tulips, ferns, blue

irises, and daffodils.

The Chairman of the Hospital House Committee, Councillor R. Milligan, presided. Proceedings were opened by the presentation, by members of the nursing staff, of bouquets of beautiful spring flowers to the Matron, Miss Finch, to Miss J. Elise Gordon, O.B.E., M.A., who presented the prizes, and to Miss E. Banner, Sister Tutor.

An inspiring report, delivered by the Matron, revealed steady progress of work in all departments generally, in which she expressed gratitude and thanks to the committee for coming and taking such an interest in the hospital. Finally, Miss Finch accorded thanks and congratulations to the members of the staff for their contribution to the improvement that had gone forward.

Miss Gordon then distributed the prizes :-

HOSPITAL FINAL EXAMINATION—HIGHEST MARKS.

1951-1952 Miss Mary Kathleen Sheerin. (Awarded by Mr. Edward Gibson, M.B.E., J.P.).

1952-1953 Miss Marianne Marte Von der Ohe. (Awarded by Mrs. Jaffe).

BEST PRACTICAL NURSE OF THE YEAR (Matron's Prize).

1951-1952 Miss Jennie Sands.

1952-1953 Miss Marianne Marte Von der Ohe.

HIGHEST MARKS GAINED IN HOSPITAL FINAL Examination—Intensive Course. (Awarded by Mrs. Jaffe).

Mr. Geoffrey Johnson.

Medicine. (Awarded by Dr. H. W. Salmon).

1951-1952 Miss Jennie Sands.

1952-1953 Miss Marianne Marte Von der Ohe.

SURGERY AND GYNAECOLOGY. (Awarded by Mr. H. C. Furst). 1951-1952 Miss Mary Kathleen Sheerin.

1952-1953 Miss Marianne Marte Von der Ohe.

Anatomy and Physiology. (Awarded by Dr. J. Duke, Medical Superintendent).

1951-1952 Miss Erika Doris Bruggemann.

1952-1953 Miss Albertine van Haren. Miss Margaret Philomena Murrihy.

ALL ROUND PROGRESS AND PERSEVERANCE.

1951-1952 Miss Annie Frances Smyth. (Awarded by Ann Burrell).

1952-1953 Miss Erika Doris Bruggemann. (Awarded by Stepney Group Hospital Management Committee).

PRELIMINARY TRAINING SCHOOL—HIGHEST MARKS GAINED DURING THE YEAR.

1951-1952 Miss Erika Doris Bruggemann. (Awarded by Councillor R. Milligan).

1952-1953 Miss Albertine van Haren. (Awarded by Mr. H. J. Hazard, J.P.).

1952-1953 Miss Hanna Rolke. (Awarded by Stepney Group Hospital Management Committee).

Following Miss Gordon's address, the Mayor of Stepney rose and, in thanking Miss Gordon on behalf of all those present, spoke of the pride they all felt in the hospital and hoped the nurses would continue their good work.

After the ceremony all assembled for tea and in much happy chatter one felt a marked atmosphere of confidence. As a committee member remarked, "we have a splendid Matron and the committee is most grateful for the advice they receive from her which is most helpful to them.

A. S. B.



Matron with her brilliant students.

The following have completed their training and have been successful in passing the Final State Examination.

Miss Catherine Brady.

Miss Elfriede Christine Drysch.

Miss Marianne Marte Von der Ohe.

Miss Mary Teresa Reilly.

Miss Jennie Sands.

Miss Mary Kathleen Sheerin

Miss Bridget Josephine Timmons.

Intensive Course.

Mr. Francis Charles Cox.

Mr. Sidney Charles Dutton.

Mr. Geoffrey Johnson.

Mr. Augustus Roscoe.

Mr. Leslie Walter Stone.

previous page next page